ESCOBAR'S FARMHOUSE INN - *TESTIMONIALS
Escobar's Farmhouse Inn - Your home away from home!



January 18, 2018 Reviewed by Ker_Review via TripAdvisor
Unfortunately we were only able to stay 1 night. Awesome renovated farmhouse that is super clean with hardwood floors. What makes this place special is Dawn the innkeeper. She's a special person with a servants heart. She gave us great suggestions for places to see and where to go for dinner. The breakfast was beyond awesome ... well balanced with fruit, yogurt, and granola ...plus a tasty quiche ...with BACON that was all exceptionally prepared. It was nice to visit with Dawn to learn about the history of the Escobar farm. We'll be back!

September 21, 2017 Reviewed by prophead2018 via TripAdvisor
Renting the entire Inn for two nights worked perfectly for our daughters destination wedding in RI. The house's living area was perfect for the hairdressers and makeup people to work their magic in a homey setting while we sipped mimosa's and grazed on Dawn's delicious breakfast treats. Having all the rooms allowed us to spend our last night with our daughter and the rest of the family together as one. Following the wedding reception we were able to offer available rooms to close friends and family which made for an enjoyable morning sitting around reliving one fun wedding!

September 18, 2017 Reviewed by JosephW via TripAdvisor
My in-laws and I took over the Inn for 3 days and had a wonderful time. Dawn handled all questions, issues, changes, tours, and restaurants, along with providing excellent breakfasts. The rooms were comfortable, and roomy. The location was perfect for visiting relatives and sight-seeing. The different-sized rooms allowed us to match up the family to their needs. If you want to save a few dollars from the high priced Newport hotels, this is an excellent alternative.

September 2, 2017 Reviewed by JeffD via TripAdvisor
My wife and I were married in Bristol, Rhode Island and had our rehearsal luncheon of about 60 people at Escobar's Farmhouse Inn the day before. Dawn (the innkeeper) was in a word: perfect. My wife and I grew up in Rhode Island but relocated to California about a year before the wedding. Obviously we assumed that planning a wedding from across the country would be a nightmare but Dawn showed that she has more than enough experience in event planning and eased our minds. 

From the first time we spoke with her we could tell that our rehearsal was in good hands. We met with her in person for the first time about a week before the luncheon and she treated us like family. We had focused so much on the wedding planning that when we met with Dawn and she reviewed her plan with us we were floored by the amount of detail she had gone into which we had forgotten to consider. She had decorations picked out, serving trays, plates, cutlery, displays, and even a few lawn games to keep people entertained. She had ideas of where everything would be set up and after asking us a couple of questions on what we would prefer she knew how everything was going to be incorporated together. We had gone into that first meeting expecting to have to make more decisions and explain how we thought everything should go and within 20 minutes of talking to Dawn we had complete trust in whatever decisions she wanted to make. The event was beautiful and we were able to step back and let Dawn take over - a welcome relief a day before the wedding.

In addition to our Rehearsal Luncheon, we also rented the entire Inn for the wedding party to stay in. We had a total of 16 people staying in the different rooms of the Inn and based on our experience and from what we heard afterwards from our friends, everyone enjoyed the experience immensely. My wife and I stayed downstairs in the Mary room which was beautifully decorated and allowed us the peace and quiet we were looking for. The majority of the wedding party was split between the Katherine Suite and the Walter Room upstairs. We stayed the night before the wedding (the night of the rehearsal) and the night of the wedding. The night of the rehearsal we were able to enjoy the outside of the Inn including the fire pit in the back yard. Dawn had gotten us supplies to make s’mores and we roasted marshmallows and had some adult beverages until we were ready for bed. Dawn made breakfast for us both mornings and had everything we could imagine from pancakes, to fruit, to bacon and sausage, to frittatas. Everything was delicious and we were able to enjoy our breakfast outside on the porch and in the backyard area.

The entire weekend was beautiful and went off better than we could have expected. We would absolutely stay at Escobar’s again and would recommend it to anyone who is looking to stay or looking to host an event in the Portsmouth/Bristol/Newport area.

September 2, 2017 Reviewed by FandE401 via TripAdvisor
My son and daughter-in-law booked the Farmhouse Inn for their wedding party and out-of-town guests for Labor Day Weekend, 2017, and that's where their rehearsal luncheon was held. While we didn't stay there, i can tell you that the innkeeper (Dawn) made us feel like welcome guests for the luncheon. We were the "hosts" as parents of the groom, and worked with Dawn on the planning for the event. She was extremely helpful, and made things go so smoothly! When the caterers arrived almost an hour late, she jumped right in to set the food up inside the farmhouse while we all socialized outdoors in the beautiful yard, playing corn hole and catch. 

The rooms themselves are lovely, and the outdoor area is just gorgeous and the perfect setting for a large group. She set up tables and chairs and tents and took care of making sure drinks were cold and food was warm and pleasantly presented.

I'll have to leave it to the actual overnight guests to give their review, but we could't have been happier with the facilities and service for our event, and highly recommend Escobar's Farmhouse Inn for a large group.

August 15, 2017 Reviewed by Kevin2736 via TripAdvisor
Newport can be incredibly expensive in Summer. A truly great stay is at Escobar's Farmhouse in nearby Portsmouth. It is a working farm, but the farmhouse is a bed and breakfast. The rooms are comfortable, and the farmhouse breakfast is what one would expect in a farmhouse.... Delicious... Dawn, the innkeeper, will greet you when you arrive and show you around. She is also responsible for the scrumptious breakfasts. It is a short drive into Newport. We normally come up once a year. We will stay here in the future.

August 5, 2017 Reviewed by Chad C via TripAdvisor
We're wrapping up our stay at the Inn and will be sadly departing in the morning. The Inn was wonderful for my family of five. My wife and I loved it as did our 3 kids (6 and under). Dawn, is the Innkeeper and she will let nothing stand in her way of ensuring your stay is nothing short of awesome. She was great and was always available if we needed something. Breakfast was no joke, you'll leave satisfied. We love coming back to Aquidneck Island after spending some time stationed here and now that I've stayed at the Inn I won't ever need to look anywhere else. This is where we'll be staying for any trip to Rhode Island we make in the future. We stayed in the Katherine Suite this time since its the biggest room and we had the kids. It would easily sleep 6 and has a big, beautiful bathroom and a small kitchen. So many good things to say about the place. Check this place out if your visiting Newport or the surrounding area.

Jun 10, 2017 Reviewed by Biogodess via TripAdvisor
My family came to Portsmouth for a wedding, and stayed with Dawn the inn-keeper at Escobar's. We loved it! we stayed in the Katherine suite- beautiful, very comfortable for our 4 adults. Dawn took very good care of us- fantastic food, set up the croquet game, recommended where to go for a last-minute shoe purchase, was very knowledgeable about the area, and created a very welcoming environment. The location was perfect for us- easy to find, close to the wedding site, and still away from the Newport traffic.

“21 Countries, 38 States - Best B&B Ever!”
May 30, 2017 Reviewed by Michael D via TripAdvisor
In the last twelve years, my wife and I have traveled to 21 countries and 39 states and our recent stay at the Escobar's Farmhouse Inn over Memorial Day weekend 2017 was, hands down, the best B&B we've ever stayed at. The "ZooKeeper" Dawn (ask her to tell you the story behind the name) was an incredible host, going above and beyond in all facets of her duties. 

The entire B&B was impeccably clean, the breakfast was an incredible spread, and her ability to make us feel at home was unparalleled. Our family of six (two adults, three kids, and an infant) stayed upstairs in the Katherine Suite and had more than enough room. Everything in the room was functional, the hot water in the shower and sink were plentiful, the beds were very comfortable, and the heater worked well. The breakfast every morning was different and included an enormous spread of food: vanilla yogurt with fresh berries, granola, a variety of homemade pastries/breads, eggs (Dawn made scrambled eggs for the kids and homemade omelets for the adults one morning), pancakes, bacon, sausage, hash brown potatoes, fresh coffee, a huge selection of teas, juice, jellies, jams, etc. You name it; it was available for breakfast...and if it wasn't, Dawn would make it for you. 

A trip to the dairy right down the road is also a must. Try to get there between 6am-8am to see the cows being milked. Even if you can't make it, there's still several cows around after the morning milking to take a look at and help feed.

I really can't say enough about Dawn and her ability to make us feel welcome. She treated us like family during our stay and went above and beyond in everything she did for us. One lazy Saturday afternoon, she brought out all sorts of lawn games, frisbees, and balls and we spent hours on their beautiful front lawn - adults down to little kids - playing together. When we were out for the afternoon, she washed and dried dirty kids cloths for us. She even stayed up with us one night after the kids had gone the bed just to talk and spend time with us. She's also excellent with young kids. Truly, the best hostess we've ever had at a B&B. Highly and without reservation, recommend Dawn and the Escobar's Farmhouse Inn!
*Room Tip: Katherine Suite is the perfect room for families. Ask Dawn to recommend a room based on your needs.

Pauline D. reviewed Escobar's Farmhouse Inn via Vistaprint— 
*5 stars  May 30, 2017
My daughter and her husband with their "extended family" 7 adults and 6 children and a 7 month old baby stayed at the inn for 4 days and I went to visit them and was amazed how beautiful the Inn is and how gracious Dawn was. I would highly recommend the Inn. (Portsmouth resident)

Jordan B. reviewed Escobar's Farmhouse Inn via YELP— 
*5 stars  May 8, 2017
An exceptionally nice 4-room bed & breakfast in a lovingly restored farmhouse in Portsmouth Rhode Island. Roughly midway between Bristol and Newport. Peaceful and quiet. Neighbor to a working dairy farm. Breakfast was outstanding. Our stay could not have been better.

Mark Diekmann reviewed Escobar's Farmhouse Inn via Facebook— 
*5 stars April 11, 2017
Staying here for a couple nights with my wife and our little cockapoo and having a terrific time. Dawn is such a friendly and accommodating hostess and the room we're in is lovely and spacious. The bathroom looks brand new and everything is as clean as a pin. Last evening as the sun was sinking a bit lower in the west, the dog and I wandered along the field, down the driveway and across the road to greet the dairy cows. Such a bucolic and magical walk and such a perfect place for a getaway from the stress of city life. Thanks, Escobar Farmhouse Inn.

Oct 31, 2016 Reviewed by mpg6 via TripAdvisor
My wife and I stayed at Escobar's Farmhouse Inn during my son's parent's weekend at Roger William's University. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and our Innkeeper Dawn was great! We had a wonderful suite in the Walter Room with a great sitting area, large comfy room and bed. Each morning we had excellent hearty breakfasts and conversation. Dawn had a fun riddle for us to solve each day. I highly recommend this Inn if you visiting in the Bristol/ Portsmouth area of Rhode Island.

Jean Matern Krull reviewed Escobar's Farmhouse Inn via Facebook —          *5 stars September 15, 2016
I stayed at the Inn a few weeks ago and had a fabulous time!! Dawn was so accommodating and helpful. I'm looking forward to the next time!

Sep 6, 2016Reviewed by Alp361 via TripAdvisor
I cannot say enough wonderful things about Escobar's Farmhouse Inn. The rooms were amazing, the breakfast delicious, the scenery gorgeous and Dawn, the innkeeper, was beyond phenomenal! I plan to return for many visits and recommend this inn to all my friends and family. The perfect getaway spot!

Aug 25, 2016 Reviewed by patbarron via TripAdvisor 
So MA has a three day residency requirement between the issue of a marriage licence and the actual marriage. In Rhode Island we did it in three hours. What's this to do with Escobars Farmhouse? Well when standing in the Town House awaiting the licence I was asked where in Portsmouth we'd be staying - no idea- but I was referred to this Inn by the counter clerk as its owner was seated alongside. Duly armed with THE licence and an appointment made with an officiant ( the Reverend lived across the road) we travelled a further 200 yards to be met by the Innkeeper, Dawn Buktus. Warned of our imminent arrival within 10 minutes she'd arranged champagne, flowers in our room and a bouquet/ buttonhole. What's more she's an accomplished photographer and insisted in taking the wedding photographs!. Being a former Events manager she certainly knows her craft. We stayed a week in this Inn, occupying three rooms in that time as pre booked guests came and departed. In our opinion "Mary's" room was the best as it afforded space with ready access to the "deck" for early morning/evening sunbathing. This was our first experience living in a BnB and we were exceptionally fortunate to encounter one operated by Dawn, every room and front of house was immaculate, nothing but nothing was of any trouble and her local knowledge and wide range of contacts ensured we had access to numerous excellent restaurants. We cannot speak too highly of her. The whole ambience of Escobars farmhouse inn beggars belief, incredible hospitality. We'll be back!!

Aug 21, 2016 Reviewed by blissfultraveler2015 via TripAdvisor
Although the inn looked beautiful in the pictures, the Katherine Suite and common areas of the inn still surpassed all of my expectations. Fantastic place for a relaxing escape from NYC with my friend and very close to the Newport beaches. The best part - Dawn the innkeeper. She went out of her way to make our stay exceptional. Can't wait to return!

Maria Bartush reviewed Escobar's Farmhouse Inn via Facebook —                 *5 stars July 14, 2016 
This a diamond in the rough !!!! Great atmosphere & the Inn Keeper who is w/o a doubt a hostess w/ the mostest !!!! Love her! Feel like I've know her my whole lifetime !

September 10, 2015 Reviewed by Walter O via TripAdvisor
Every year we spend a couple of summer weekends at Escobar's. The location is very convenient, near great beaches, Newport and Bristol. And the staff, Stewart and Carly have always been friendly and helpful. We always look forward to our stays.

"Great Stay!"
June 6, 2015 Reviewed by w00dsyrice via TripAdvisor
A lovely and caring staff, pretty and comfortable rooms and a unique "farm" experience. What's not to love? Go meet Mr. Escobar during cow-milking time and get a unique education! And breakfast was truly lovely.

"Very relaxing place"
September 27, 2014 Reviewed by JamesC061044 via TripAdvisor
We looked for a place to stay one overnight in the area of my grandsons wedding. Prices were extremely high and we did not want to spend a lot of money, which is very difficult in the Newport area. Escobar's was a perfect place since it and very close to all the events. Stuart was gracious enough to let us stay for one night. We only live about an hour away and staying two nights was not necessary. This house is very clean and the atmosphere just great. Sitting on the deck overlooking the cornstalks was relaxing. Although this place is on a pretty heavily traveled road we could not hear a lot of noisy. They were very nice and also accommodating to us. We were going to a brunch in the morning so didn't have breakfast there, but it looked nice. We would most definitely stay here again. Loved it!

July 20, 2014 Reviewed by ChrisandCarlos via TripAdvisor
We absolutely loved our experience with Escobar's Farmhouse Inn. The Innkeeper Stuart, is the personification of gracious hospitality -- and I could write a book just about the magnificent breakfasts we were served! There were three of us on this trip, and the Walter Room was beautifully appointed and spacious. The Inn is meticulously cared for and just has a wonderfully pleasant vibe about the place. As others have mentioned, it is seemingly isolated, but very close to all that Newport has to offer. But don't forget Portsmouth as well -- just a short walk away from the Inn is a charming Dairy Farm at which you can witness the cows being milked. And two wonderful wineries are a short distance away as well. There is also a lovely topiary gardens five minutes away (by car) that is maintained by the Newport Preservation Society. All in all, we had a wonderful, relaxing weekend and a first-class experience with Stuart and Al. We can't wait to return and highly recommend Escobar's Farmhouse Inn. It is truly a little gem -- and a great value -- and just a short distance away from the Mansions and nightlife of Newport.
Room Tip: The Walter Room has two queen beds and a daybed, easily accommodating five friends -- it was lovely...

July 12, 2013 Reviewed by KimS via TripAdvisor
My daughter and I stayed here last summer and I have been meaning to write a review ever since. This place was just outstanding. The Innkeeper cooked us the best breakfasts! The rooms were spacious, comfortable, and really clean. However, from the outside, you would never know that this chic inn existed on the inside of a barn house. New Port is only about 15 minutes away so you can drive there to eat at the restaurants or see the mansions. I talk about this place with everyone and will never forget my stay here.

June 10, 2013 Reviewed by KristyAnn82 via TripAdvisor
I stayed at Escobar's Farmhouse Inn this past weekend June 7-9th 2013 with my boyfriend. What a wonderful place to stay. It was our first B&B and I can't wait to go back! We stayed in the Mary Room on the first level. We had our own tv, dvd player, walk out patio, full private bath, and ac unit. The house AND our room/bathroom were spotless. So clean! This was a very cozy place to stay. Stuart was the InnKeeper and he is very friendly and hospitable. We talked his ear off while he was making our daily FREE breakfast. The rates are very affordable. We drove into Newport every day and it was about 8 miles and a nice drive. Very easy to get too. I'm very glad I found Escobar's Inn and look forward to many more long weekends there. Next time I'm bringing my entire family!

March 13, 2013 Reviewed by SEAuLATER via TripAdvisor
My husband and I had the pleasure of staying at Escobar's Farmhouse Inn after attending a family party in Portsmouth. We chose the inn based on it's proximity to the party. Little did we know that we would discover a place that we look forward to returning to again.

The inn is warm, inviting, and beautifully decorated. It is filled with an eclectic mix of furniture, fabric, books, lamps, and art., Everywhere you look, their is a new discovery!

We stayed in the Walter Room. It was spacious, clean, colorful, and comfortable. 
The highlight of the visit was Stuart's amazing gourmet breakfast! The guests sat in the open kitchen enjoying pastries, juice, yogurt, tea, coffee, fruit, and lively conversation as he worked his magic by the stove, preparing the main course. In this relaxed, friendly setting, it was easy to forget that you were with strangers. When the main breakfast was served, we all gathered at the dining room table. My husband and I are both well-traveled and Stuart's breakfast definitely ranks on our "short list" of outstanding culinary delights!

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Escobar's Farmhouse Inn.
Room Tip: We loved the Walter Room but every room is equally as appealing.